You are here: Music    Recordings    A Banquet of Voices

A Banquet of Voices

Music for multiple choirs

The Cambridge Singers
John Rutter (conductor)
Helen Gough (baroque cello)
William Hunt (violone)
Wayne Marshall (chamber organ)


CD: £9.00
$11.91 Guide priceThis site charges in GBP (British pounds). The 'guide price' reflects today's exchange rate. The price you see on your bank/credit card statement may differ slightly, due to the currency conversion used by your chosen payment method.

Looking for downloads? All albums and individual tracks are available to download digitally from Hyperion and iTunes but are only available in CD format from
Category: Tags: , CSCD 525


A sumptuous programme of music for multiple choirs with the dazzling Tallis 40-part motet Spem in alium nunquam habui as the centrepiece. This is a re-release of the classic Cambridge Singers recording, using modern digital sound restoration, allowing the music to be heard in its full sonic splendour.

Track list

1. Duo Seraphim (Francisco Guerrero)

2. Miserere mei, Deus (Gregorio Allegri)

3. Crucifixus (Antonio Caldara)

4. Surrexit Pastor bonus (Samuel Scheidt)

5. Spen in alium nunquam habui (Thomas Tallis)

6. Ave Regina caelorum (Peter Philips)

7. Fest -und Gedenksprüche: 1. Unsere Väter hofften auf dich (Johannes Brahms)

8. Fest -und Gedenksprüche: 2. Wie ein starker Gewappneter (Johannes Brahms)

9. Fest -und Gedenksprüche: 3. Wo ist ein so herrlich Volk (Johannes Brahms)

10. Mitten wir im Leben sind (Felix Mendelssohn)

11. Heilig (Felix Mendelssohn)

12. Motet No. 1: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225: 1. Singet dem Herrn (J.S. Bach)

13. Motet No. 1: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225: 2. Wie sich ein Vater erbarmet (J.S. Bach)

14. Motet No. 1: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225: 3. Lobet den Herrn in seinen Taten - Alles was Odem hat (J.S. Bach)

Printed music featured on this disc

WordPress Image Lightbox