You are here: Music    Recordings    Fancies    Track: Fancies: The bellman’s song


The Cambridge Singers | City of London Sinfonia
John Rutter (conductor)

CD: £9.00

Looking for downloads?
CSCD 516


This album explores the secular works of John Rutter. Fancies is a cycle of six settings of Elizabethan poetry, described by the composer as ‘music for a summer’s evening.’ When Icicles Hang, another choral cycle with orchestra, is a winter piece, best known for its bitter-sweet setting of Shakespeare’s Blow, blow, thou winter wind. The Five Childhood Lyrics, for unaccompanied choir, take a group of simple rhymes and set them in a spirit of fun and fairytale. The Suite Antique for flute, harpsichord and strings, consists of six short movements ranging from a simple, classic ‘aria’ to an upbeat ‘jazz waltz’.

Track list

  1. Fancies: Tell me where is fancy bred
  2. Fancies: There is a garden in her face
  3. Fancies: The urchin’s song
  4. Fancies: Riddle song
  5. Fancies: Midnight’s bell
  6. Fancies: The bellman’s song
  7. Suite Antique: Prelude
  8. Suite Antique: Ostinato
  9. Suite Antique: Aria
  10. Suite Antique: Waltz
  11. Suite Antique: Chanson
  12. Suite Antique: Rondeau
  13. Five Childhood Lyrics: Monday’s Child
  14. Five Childhood Lyrics: The Owl and the Pussy-cat
  15. Five Childhood Lyrics: Windy nights
  16. Five Childhood Lyrics: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John
  17. Five Childhood Lyrics: Sing a song of sixpence
  18. When Icicles Hang: Icicles
  19. When Icicles Hang: Winter nights
  20. When Icicles Hang: Good ale
  21. When Icicles Hang: Blow, blow thou winter wind
  22. When Icicles Hang: Winter awakeneth all my care
  23. When Icicles Hang: Hay, ay


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Fancies: The bellman’s song”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Printed music featured on this disc

WordPress Image Lightbox
youjizz mobile pantyhose loving babe pampering.