You are here: Music    Recordings    Feel the Spirit    Track: Songs and Sonnets: Live with me and be my love

Feel the Spirit

The Cambridge Singers | Melanie Marshall (mezzo-soprano) | BBC Concert Orchestra
John Rutter (conductor)

CD: £9.00

Looking for downloads?
CSCD 523


Strong, stirring spirituals and tuneful, jazz-flavoured settings of Shakespeare’s timeless lyrics are the mouth-watering ingredients of the Cambridge Singers’ album Feel the Spirit. John Rutter has written vivid arrangements of seven well-loved American spirituals for choir, with soloist Melanie Marshall and the BBC Concert Orchestra joining together with the Cambridge Singers for this world première recording.

Another notable ‘first’ is jazz legend George Shearing’s captivating cycle of Shakespeare settings, Songs and Sonnets. Those who associate George Shearing with instrumental jazz (and of course with his immortal Lullaby of Birdland) will be astonished and delighted at the youthful charm and skillful word setting of this cycle. The final touch of sparkle is added by Proms favourite Wayne Marshall’s piano with Malcolm Creese on bass. To complete the album, John Rutter’s own Birthday Madrigals also receive their première recording.

Track list

  1. Feel the Spirit: Joshua fit the battle of Jericho (Rutter)
  2. Feel the Spirit: Steal away (Rutter)
  3. Feel the Spirit: I got a robe (Rutter)
  4. Feel the Spirit: Sometimes I feel like a motherless child (Rutter)
  5. Feel the Spirit: Ev’ry time I feel the Spirit (Rutter)
  6. Feel the Spirit: Deep River (Rutter)
  7. Feel the Spirit: When the saints go marching in (Rutter)
  8. Songs and Sonnets: Live with me and be my love (George Shearing)
  9. Songs and Sonnets: When daffodils begin to peer (Shearing)
  10. Songs and Sonnets: It was a lover and his lass (Shearing)
  11. Songs and Sonnets: Spring (Shearing)
  12. Songs and Sonnets: Who is Silvia (Shearing)
  13. Songs and Sonnets: Fie on sinful fantasy (Shearing)
  14. Songs and Sonnets: Hey, ho, the wind and the rain (Shearing)
  15. The Heavenly Aeroplane (Rutter)
  16. Lord of the Dance (arr. John Rutter)
  17. Birthday Madrigals: It was a lover and his lass (Rutter)
  18. Birthday Madrigals: Draw on, sweet night (Rutter)
  19. Birthday Madrigals: Come live with me (Rutter)
  20. Birthday Madrigals: My true love hath my heart (Rutter)
  21. Birthday Madrigals: When daisies pied (Rutter)
  22. Skylark (Rutter)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Songs and Sonnets: Live with me and be my love”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Printed music featured on this disc

WordPress Image Lightbox
youjizz mobile pantyhose loving babe pampering.