You are here: Music    Recordings    A Double Celebration

A Double Celebration

The Cambridge Singers - Music of John Rutter

The Cambridge Singers | City of London Sinfonia
John Rutter (conductor)

CD: £14.00
$18.53 Guide priceThis site charges in GBP (British pounds). The 'guide price' reflects today's exchange rate. The price you see on your bank/credit card statement may differ slightly, due to the currency conversion used by your chosen payment method.

Looking for downloads? All albums and individual tracks are available to download digitally from Hyperion and iTunes but are only available in CD format from
Category: COLCD 137

Click on a track for an audio sample:


A two-CD celebration to mark 30 years of the Cambridge Singers and the 70th birthday of John Rutter.

Audio learning guides are available for the following pieces, from ChoirGuide

A Gaelic Blessing
All things bright and beautiful

For the beauty of the earth
God be in my head
Open thou mine eyes
Blow, blow, thou winter wind
Be thou my vision

Track list

  1. Come, let's rejoice (Amner)
  2. Alma Redemptoris Mater (Gregorian chant)
  3. If ye love me (Tallis)
  4. Hosanna to the Son of David (Gibbons)
  5. Haec dies (Byrd)
  6. This joyful Eastertide (arr. Charles Wood)
  7. O gladsome light (Louis Bourgeois)
  8. Remember not, Lord our offenses (Purcell)
  9. Ave Virgo gloriosa (Richard Dering)
  10. Ave verum Corpus (Lassus)
  11. Laudate Dominum (Sweelinck)
  12. Bogoroditsye Dyevo (Rachmaninov)
  13. Ave Maria (Bruckner)
  14. In paradisum (Fauré)
  15. The Blue Bird (Stanford)
  16. My sweetheart's like Venus (arr. Holst)
  17. To be sung of a summer night on the water II (Delius)
  18. The silver swan (Gibbons)
  19. Round about in a fair ring (Bennet)
  20. Trois beaux oiseaux du Paradis (Ravel)
  21. The bold grenadier (arr. Rutter)
  22. Quick! We have but a second (Stanford)
  23. Lay a garlan (Pearsall)
  24. I know where I'm going (arr. Rutter)
  25. There is a flower (Rutter)
  26. Sans day carol (arr. Rutter)
  27. I wonder as I wander (arr. Rutter)
  28. Candlelight carol (Rutter)
  29. Away in a manger (Kirkpatrick, arr. Rutter)
  30. Mary's lullaby (Rutter)
  31. For the beauty of the earth (Rutter)
  32. A Gaelic Blessing (Rutter)
  33. The Lord is my Shepherd (Rutter)
  34. O clap your hands (Rutter)
  35. Be thou my vision (Rutter)
  36. Thy perfect love (Rutter)
  37. Lord of the Dance (Rutter)
  38. Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace (Rutter)
  39. Open thou mine eyes (Rutter)
  40. Pie Jesu (Rutter)
  41. All things bright and beautiful (Rutter)
  42. Christ the Lord is risen again (Rutter)
  43. I believe in springtime (Rutter)
  44. I my Best-Beloved's am (Rutter)
  45. God be in my head (Rutter)
  46. A Choral Amen (Rutter)
  47. O waly, waly (Rutter)
  48. Blow, blow thou winter wind (Rutter)
  49. Riddle Song (Rutter)
  50. Down by the riverside (Rutter)
  51. The Owl and the Pussy-Cat (Rutter)
  52. Good Ale (Rutter)
  53. Sing a Song of sixpence (Rutter)
  54. Dashing away with the smoothing iron (Rutter)
  55. Waltz (Rutter)

“It’s a fine collection which clearly shows off Rutter’s melodic gifts and the extraordinary rapport between the composer and his singers…” Classic FM

“…enjoy this excellent retrospective compilation of one of the giants of contemporary British music…” Cross Rhythms

“Two significant musical institutions are showcased in this new 2-CD release which features thirty years of recordings by the Cambridge Singers and marks the forthcoming 70th birthday of their director, the composer John Rutter. One of the albums features classic Cambridge Singers performances by a variety of composers. The second specifically celebrates the music of Rutter, with a wide range of works that he has composed or arranged over the past 30 years.

It’s a fine collection which clearly shows off Rutter’s melodic gifts and the extraordinary rapport between the composer and his singers who deliver with ethereal beauty and clarity…” Classic FM

WordPress Image Lightbox