You are here: Music    Printed music    Fauré: Requiem (1893 version) (ed. John Rutter)

Fauré: Requiem (1893 version) (ed. John Rutter)

Accompanied; SATB; Solo voice

This edition presents Fauré’s masterpiece in a form which accords with his original intention that it should be a liturgical Requiem with accompaniment of organ and chamber ensemble. The 1893 version is an expansion of Fauré’s original, prepared by the composer for a performance at the Church of the Madeleine in Paris and containing two additional movements, the Offertoire and the Libera me. In contrast to the fully orchestrated version that was published in 1900, this edition preserves the original chamber instrumentation, and it also contains a full English translation by John Rutter.

Complete orchestral and vocal material is available to hire/rent, and the vocal score, full score, and parts are also available on sale at the OUP link below.

Orchestration: 2 bn, 4 hn, 2 tpt, timp, hp, org, violin solo, vla 1 & 2, cello 1 & 2, db. Only 2 hn, hp, org, and str are essential.

Buy from OUPJohn's music is available to buy or hire from OUP (or other publisher), but not directly from this site. Click this button to link straight to the relevant page for this piece on their site.


Duration: 35 minutes
Difficulty: Easy
Published: 22 August 1985
ISBN: 9780193361034

Programme notes

John Rutter edited the 1893 version of the Requiem from Fauré’s manuscript…

Download John's programme notes on this piece

John Rutter on the Requiem 1. Impulse and Influence


WordPress Image Lightbox