You are here: Music    Printed music    I wish you Christmas

I wish you Christmas

SATB; Accompanied

This uplifting Christmas carol demonstrates Rutter’s gift for writing engaging and memorable tunes. The melody weaves between different voices and scorings, while the piano part complements the vocal lines with rich, luscious harmonies. An accessible and enjoyable option for mixed choirs.

Orchestral material is available to hire at the OUP link below.

Buy from OUPJohn's music is available to buy or hire from OUP (or other publisher), but not directly from this site. Click this button to link straight to the relevant page for this piece on their site.

Audio sample

Duration: 4.5 minutes
Difficulty: Easy
Published: 13 November 2008
ISBN: 9780193364929

This piece on disc

A Christmas Festival

The Cambridge Singers | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra | Farnham Youth Choir
John Rutter (conductor)

John Rutter directs the Cambridge Singers, The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, and the award-winning Farnham Youth Choir alongside guest soloists Melanie Marshall, Clara Sanabras and Elin Manahan Thomas, for an unforgettable festival of Christmas music.

Track list

  1. O come, all ye faithful (J.F. Wade)
  2. Gaudete (Michael Neaum and John Rutter – arr.)
  3. The Shepherd’s Carol (Chilcott)
  4. Nos galan (arr. Rutter)
  5. I wonder as I wander (arr. Rutter)
  6. Ave Maria (arr. Rutter)
  7. Tomorrow shall be my dancing day (arr. Rutter)
  8. Rejoice and be merry (arr. Rutter)
  9. El Noi de la Mare (arr. Rutter)
  10. A Christmas Overture (Nigel Hess)
  11. Born on a new day (John David)
  12. Magical Kingdom (Rutter)
  13. Mary’s Boy Child (Jester Hairston)
  14. Esta noche (arr. Rutter)
  15. Sleigh Ride (Delius)
  16. The Virgin …

View CD | Add to basket

WordPress Image Lightbox