You are here: Music    Printed music    Lament for the Holy City (violin and piano)

Lament for the Holy City (violin and piano)


This hauntingly beautiful piece is extracted from Rutter’s large-scale work Visions.

The expressive solo line features long phrases, double stopping in thirds and sixths, and a quasi-improvised section, making it an ideal concert work for advanced violinists.

Also available in an arrangement for flute and piano.

Buy from OUPJohn's music is available to buy or hire from OUP (or other publisher), but not directly from this site. Click this button to link straight to the relevant page for this piece on their site.


Duration: 5 minutes
Difficultly: Moderately Difficult, Difficult
Published: 30 November 2017
ISBN: 9780193523081

WordPress Image Lightbox