You are here: Music    Printed music    Visions


Accompanied; Instrumental; Upper voices

Visions is a four-movement showpiece for solo violin in unique combination with upper-voice choir, harp, and strings (or organ). Inspired by the idea of ‘Jerusalem’ both as a Holy City and a utopian ideal of heavenly peace, the composer has selected four biblical texts, in English and Latin, that express different aspects of this vision. The profound subject matter is taken up in the celestial soundworld of the choir and the virtuosic, vibrant, and expressive writing for violin, set against rich textures in the strings and harp. The work may be performed by women’s or boys’ voices.

Processional and prelude: Jerusalem the blessed
Arise, shine
Lament for Jerusalem
Finale: The holy city

Orchestration: solo vln, hp, org or str

Buy from OUPJohn's music is available to buy or hire from OUP (or other publisher), but not directly from this site. Click this button to link straight to the relevant page for this piece on their site.


Duration: 20 minutes
Difficulty: Easy, Moderately Difficult
Published: 27 October 2016
ISBN: 9780193513181

Programme notes

Visions was the result of a most unusual invitation: to write a piece combining solo violin, string ensemble, and the boy choristers of the Temple Church choir…

Download John's programme notes on this piece

An introduction to Visions, by John Rutter

Visions is a four-movement piece for solo violin, string orchestra, harp and choir of treble voices, by John Rutter


WordPress Image Lightbox