I Sing of a Maiden: Christmas 2021

Good news! John Rutter has written and recorded five new Christmas carols, coming out as a digital-only release on Friday 12th November 2021. The five new carols recorded by The Cambridge Singers and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and conducted by John, are:

  • Es ist ein’ Ros’ entsprungen
  • I sing of a maiden
  • Joseph’s Carol
  • Christ our Emmanuel
  • Suzi’s Carol

I Sing of a Maiden will be the first new Christmas release recorded by John himself since A Christmas Festival in 2008. John writes: “I have been composing and arranging Christmas carols ever since I was a teenager – the Shepherd’s Pipe Carol was the first published one – and hardly a year has gone by without adding a new one or two to the list. I sing of a maiden brings together four of my latest composed carols, together with a recent arrangement of the lovely old German carol Es ist ein’ Ros’ entsprungen. For this new recording it was a pleasure to reunite with my own Cambridge Singers, joined by our good friends the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. We hope it will bring seasonal cheer to all those who have enjoyed our previous Christmas albums – and perhaps win some new friends too.”

I Sing of a Maiden will be available on Apple Music from 5th November 2021 and on all digital streaming platforms from 12th November 2021.

7 Responses to “I Sing of a Maiden: Christmas 2021”

  1. Des McLean

    So looking forward to buying this new set… it wouldn’t be Christmas without a Rutter carol or two

  2. Aprella Fitch

    Please release a CD as well. I should like one for myself and certainly would purchase another as a Christmas gift for a non techie friend

  3. Brenda Janson

    I love your carols! Please put them on a CD sometime soon! Please!

  4. Gayle essex

    Rutter music warms my heart and thrills my soul. Thank you for another gift from heaven!