Out Now: ‘A Banquet of Voices’

A Banquet of Voices, celebrating music written for multiple choirs, is out today and available to order on CD for £9 or listen to across all streaming platforms. This is a re-release of the classic Cambridge Singers recording, using modern digital sound restoration, allowing the music to be heard in its full sonic splendour. It features a sumptuous programme of music spanning more than 400 years with the dazzling Tallis 40-part motet Spem in alium nunquam habui as the centrepiece.

  • Duo Seraphim (Francisco Guerrero)
  • Miserere mei, Deus (Gregorio Allegri)
  • Crucifixus (Antonio Caldara)
  • Surrexit Pastor bonus (Samuel Scheidt)
  • Spem in alium nunquam habui (Thomas Tallis)
  • Ave Regina caelorum (Peter Philips) 
  • Fest- und Gedenksprüche (Johannes Brahms) 
  • Mitten wir im Leben sind (Felix Mendelssohn)
  • Heilig (Felix Mendelssohn) 
  • Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied (J.S. Bach) 

John writes:

“Revisiting this 1993 Cambridge Singers recording, I realize I should never have withdrawn it from the Collegium catalogue – and all because of an obscure musicological question in my mind over a Gregorian chant, long since resolved. We assembled a stellar team of forty voices, offering a sumptuous programme of music for multiple choirs, with the dazzling Tallis 40-part motet as the centrepiece. Allegri’s Miserere, now a firmer audience favourite than ever, and the most magnificent of Bach’s six motets, Singet dem Herrn, are among the other choral masterpieces featured on an album that truly is a banquet of voices. For the first time, modern digital sound restoration has allowed the music to be heard in its full sonic splendour, and we are confident the album will once again take its place in the treasured family of Cambridge Singers recordings.”

Order the CD or listen on your favourite streaming platform. We hope you enjoy listening!

One Response to “Out Now: ‘A Banquet of Voices’”

  1. T. H. Robison

    Thank you for putting this together for us. I’m enjoying it now. In such difficult times it is wonderful to be able to listen to such wonderful and hopeful music.