You are here: Music    Recordings    Christmas Star

Christmas Star

Carols for the Christmas season

The Cambridge Singers and Orchestra
John Rutter (conductor)

CD: £9.00
$11.91 Guide priceThis site charges in GBP (British pounds). The 'guide price' reflects today's exchange rate. The price you see on your bank/credit card statement may differ slightly, due to the currency conversion used by your chosen payment method.

Looking for downloads? All albums and individual tracks are available to download digitally from Hyperion and iTunes but are only available in CD format from
Category: Tags: , , CSCD 503

Click on a track for an audio sample:


The Cambridge Singers' debut recording – a universal favourite.

This recording was the first to be made by the Cambridge Singers, shortly after the choir's formation in 1981. Featuring classic carols and carol arrangements it is one of the label's most popular Christmas releases. Highlights include John Rutter's arrangements of such favourites as Three Kings of Orient, Away in a Manger and Silent Night.

Track list

  1. Good Christian men, rejoice (arr. Rutter)
  2. I wonder as I wander (arr. Rutter)
  3. All my heart this night rejoices (J.G. Ebeling)
  4. Silent night (Franz Gruber)
  5. Lo, how a Rose e'er blooming (arr. M. Praetorius)
  6. Ding dong! Merrily on high (arr. Wood)
  7. Three kings of Orient (J.H. Hopkins)
  8. How great our joy (arr. Rutter)
  9. Angels we have heard on high (arr. Rutter)
  10. Joy to the world (Lowell Mason)
  11. Away in a manger (J.R. Murray)
  12. Un flambeau, Jeannette, Isabelle (arr. Rutter)
  13. God rest you merry, gentlemen (arr. Rutter)
  14. What child is this? (arr. Rutter)
  15. Twas in the moon of winter time (arr. Rutter)
  16. O little one sweet (arr. Bach)
  17. Go, tell it on the mountain (arr. Rutter)
  18. Away in a manger (Kirkpatrick)
  19. Rise up, shepherd, and follow (arr. Rutter)
  20. The Christmas Song (Mel Tormé and Robert Wells)
  21. We wish you a merry Christmas (arr. Rutter)
  22. O come, all ye faithful (J.F. Wade)

“I can’t imagine any Christmas recording bringing more happiness.” Gramophone

“New life is breathed into the old favourites, and I guarantee that whatever your musical tastes, you will be bowled over by the quality of the music. Head and shoulders above in this field. Enjoy!” Cross Rhythms

“Recorded in the Lady Chapel of Ely Cathedral in 1981, this was the first recording by the then newly-formed Cambridge Singers. Now available on CD it provides a delightful introduction to a group who have done much to keep the spirit of Christmas song alive. John Rutter’s arrangements of traditional English favourites have a glistening beauty full of seasonal wit and warmth.” The Lady

“How’s this for an unusual story? This was the very first recording made by the Cambridge Singers soon after their formation in 1981. After a brief life on LP, the original digital master tape disappeared, and was presumed lost forever, only to reappear in 1996. Was it worth the wait? The title gives away the content: 22 carols old and new. If you’re like me, you’ll generally despise Christmas collections like this. One has to admit, however, that there are few performances approaching the level of professionalism, nay, perfection of this recording.” Cross Rhythms

WordPress Image Lightbox