You are here: Music    Recordings    Faire is the Heaven

Faire is the Heaven

Music of the English Church

The Cambridge Singers
John Rutter (conductor)

CD: £14.00
$18.53 Guide priceThis site charges in GBP (British pounds). The 'guide price' reflects today's exchange rate. The price you see on your bank/credit card statement may differ slightly, due to the currency conversion used by your chosen payment method.

Looking for downloads? All albums and individual tracks are available to download digitally from Hyperion and iTunes but are only available in CD format from
Category: Tags: , COLCD 107

Click on a track for an audio sample:


This recording is dedicated to unaccompanied English church music, sung in the beautiful acoustic of the Lady Chapel of Ely Cathedral. The 23 motets and anthems are drawn from three key periods: the Reformation, in the 16th century; the Restoration, in the later 17th century; and the Anglican revival, in the mid-19th century.

Track list

  1. Ave Maria (Parsons)
  2. Loquebantur variis linguis (Tallis)
  3. Miserere Mei (Byrd)
  4. Haec dies (Byrd)
  5. Ave verum corpus (Byrd)
  6. If ye love me (Tallis)
  7. Hide not thou thy face (Farrant)
  8. Lord, for thy tender mercy's sake (Farrant)
  9. O clap your hands (Gibbons)
  10. Bow thine ear (Byrd)
  11. Hosanna to the Son of David (Gibbons)
  12. Lord, how long wilt thou be angry (Purcell)
  13. Thou knowest, Lord (Purcell)
  14. Hear my prayer, O Lord (Purcell)
  15. Beati quorum via (Stanford)
  16. This joyful Eastertide (arr. Wood)
  17. Sing lullaby (Howells)
  18. A spotless Rose (Howells)
  19. What cheer? (Walton)
  20. O taste and see (Vaughan Williams)
  21. A hymn to the Virgin (Britten)
  22. Jesus Christ the apple tree (Poston)
  23. Faire is the heaven (Harris)

“An individual record of exceptional warmth and delight” Gramophone

“The magical acoustic of the Lady Chapel in Ely Cathedral has been superbly captured here; I would even go so far as to say it is perfect for these a cappella works, for, whilst its bouyant reverberation helps lines to soar and float aloft, it also maintains a stunning clarity of inner texture, and with such wonderful singing and immaculate intonation you wouldn’t want to miss anything. The poise of the Cambridge Singers brings a trance-like tranquility and timelessness to a marvelously varied programme of 23 anthems and motets, works spanning four centuries of the most inspired composition for the English Church. There is a dedication to detail that produces the most intoxicating effects.” Hi-Fi News

“The unmistakable sound of the Lady Chapel of Ely Cathedral, the youthful quality of the voices and the selection of pieces, all firm favourites with the choir, combine to make this an individual record of exceptional warmth and delight.  It falls naturally into four sections, beginning with sixteenth-century music of the Latin rite, followed by English music of the Reformation, then of the Restoration, and finally music representing the Anglican revival of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries…” Gramophone

“Faire is the Heaven is, first of all, an intelligent program, thoughtfully packaged and unusually well notated. The program is divided into four sections: Music of the Latin rite, Music of the Reformation, Music of the Restoration and a sort of catch-all, the Anglican revival and the 20th century. Rutter’s Cambridge Singers already has a number of distinguished recordings to its credit. The 28-voice mixed choir produces an extremely lovely, pure tone – almost vibrato less – with the female sopranos striving for the ringing, bell-like sound characteristic of boy sopranos.  With this technique, they achieve marvelous results in the early repertoire.  But occasionally, especially in some of the 20th century works (Beati quorum via, Faire is the heaven), one wishes for a bit more robustness. These are performances that not only achieve a high level of artistry, but confirm the dignity and spiritual profundity of this revered music.” Digital Audio

WordPress Image Lightbox