You are here: Music    Recordings    Tarik O’Regan: Voices

Tarik O’Regan: Voices

Choir of Clare College Cambridge
Timothy Brown (conductor)

CD: £14.00
$18.53 Guide priceThis site charges in GBP (British pounds). The 'guide price' reflects today's exchange rate. The price you see on your bank/credit card statement may differ slightly, due to the currency conversion used by your chosen payment method.

Looking for downloads? All albums and individual tracks are available to download digitally from Hyperion and iTunes but are only available in CD format from
Category: Tags: , COLCD 130


Voices, a collection of 14 première recordings, ushers in a major new talent, Tarik O'Regan, one of the most exciting choral composers to emerge in years. His music is tonal although edgy and definably contemporary.

Rafal Jezierski cello
James McVinnie organ
Adrian Spillett percussion
Helen Tunstall harp

Track list

  1. Three motets from 'Sequence for St Wulfstan': Beatus auctor sæculi
  2. Three motets from 'Sequence for St Wulfstan': O vera digna hostia
  3. Three motets from 'Sequence for St Wulfstan': Tu claustra stirpe regia
  4. Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: Variations for Choir: Magnificat
  5. Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: Variations for Choir: Nunc dimittis
  6. Bring rest, sweet dreaming child
  7. Columba aspexit
  8. Dorchester Canticles: Cantate Domino
  9. Dorchester Canticles: Deus Misereatur
  10. Gratias tibi
  11. Ave Maria
  12. Care Charminge Sleepe
  13. Locus iste
  14. Colimaçon

“Whatever the future course of O’Regan’s career, he will be able to look back on this debut album with well merited satisfaction.” Gramophone

“‘Voices’ confirms the picture of a brilliantly imaginative and confident composer with a distinctive approach.” Birmingham Post

“Committed, persuasive and highly accomplished performances of an exceptional composing voice of our time.” International Record Review

“One of the most original and eloquent of young British composers … tonal but cutting-edge.” The Observer

“The composer Tarik O’Regan is a significant new British voice, who deserves to be heard far and wide.  His music communicates through the well-explored channels of warm, chordal sonority, but, crucially, neglects neither rhythmic vitality nor polyphonic weave. Consequently, there’s a real rigour to his music, and when it is performed with as much commitment as it is here, it is a transporting experience.  Care Charminge Sleepe is one of the best pieces of English choral music I’ve heard in ages and is here given a heart-wrenching performance.  The Dorchester Canticles, written to partner Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, is marvellous, ebullient stuff.  It goes without saying that the sound of Clare choir is youthful and sometimes fragile, but that is mostly to its benefit.  There is an urgent immediacy to their sound, as there is to the recording quality…” BBC Music Magazine

“One of the most original and eloquent of young British composers, Tarik O’Regan has already produced enough works to merit this polished disc from the choir of Clare College, Cambridge, directed by Tim Brown.  The tonal but cutting-edge quality which distinguishes his work is at its most elegant in the haunting Magnificat, at its most distinctive in the spikier Dorchester Cantitles.  Other works, including three motets and six settings for mixed and upper voices, mark out O’Regan’s as a vivid imagination of which we will hear much more.” The Observer

WordPress Image Lightbox