You are here: Music    Printed music    Feel the Spirit

Feel the Spirit

Accompanied; SATB; Solo voice

Feel the Spirit is a cycle of seven familiar spirituals expertly arranged by John Rutter for mezzo-soprano solo, mixed choir, and orchestra or chamber ensemble. Equally suitable for concert, school, or church use, the vivid and expressive arrangements can be performed individually, or as a complete cycle that showcases the rich heritage of the spiritual. The work brings new life to such well-loved titles as Steal away, I got a robe, and When the saints go marching in and has two accompaniment options: full orchestra or chamber ensemble.

Orchestral material is available to hire at the OUP link below.

Orchestration: Large orchestra: 2fl, 2 ob (2+ca), 2cl (B flat & A), bass cl, 2 bsn, 4 hn, 3 tpt (b flat), 3 tbn (2 tenor, 1 bass), tuba, timps, perc (2 players-glock, sus. cymbal, crash cymbal, tambourine, claves, bass drum, trap set), hp, str Chamber orchestra: fl, ob (2+ca), B flat …

Buy from OUPJohn's music is available to buy or hire from OUP (or other publisher), but not directly from this site. Click this button to link straight to the relevant page for this piece on their site.


Duration: 30 minutes
Difficulty: Easy, Moderately Difficult
Published: 01 June 2016
ISBN: 9780193416246

Programme notes

John Rutter built a set of spirituals crafted to mezzo-soprano Melanie Marshall’s personal style, partnered by choir, with the orchestra, supplies a further dimension of colour and emotional depth…

Download John's programme notes on this piece

WordPress Image Lightbox