The John Rutter Christmas Piano Album

Good news: there is a Christmas Piano Album on the way, bringing together eight of John Rutter’s best-loved seasonal choral pieces as piano transcriptions. This will be available both as an album and as a sheet music collection.

The full tracklist is as follows:

  • A Child’s Lullaby (Christ our Emmanuel)
  • Angels’ Carol
  • Candlelight Carol
  • Nativity Carol
  • The Colours of Christmas
  • The Very Best Time of Year
  • What sweeter music
  • Mary’s Lullaby, and Epilogue (new for Christmas 2020)

The sheet music will be published by Oxford University Press on Thursday 29th October and will be available both digitally (via these music retailers) and as a print edition.

The album, recorded by Wayne Marshall on Decca Records, will be available to stream across all digital platforms on Friday 20th November. In addition, there will be a CD available in the UK – the John Rutter Piano Album – featuring all eight Christmas tracks as well as the eight tracks from The Piano Collection (which came out in July 2020).

The new piano arrangements were made by John Rutter during the summer. We hope they will be enjoyed by keen pianists at home during the festive season. They have been designed for pianists everywhere, and include the lyrics within the score, for sing-alongs at home. 

New for Christmas 2020, the gentle Mary’s Lullaby features a newly written Epilogue, a homage to George Shearing and evoking the style of this celebrated jazz pianist. 

JR at piano

7 Responses to “The John Rutter Christmas Piano Album”

    • Emma Harrison

      Hello – the album will be available for streaming worldwide – from 20th November.

  1. Glynis Smith

    Is this available in a CD. If so how much and from where can I order it. Also interested in the sheet music. Again, how much and from where?