You are here: Music    Recordings    Lighten our Darkness    Track: Office of Compline (tracks 19-30)

Lighten our Darkness

The Cambridge Singers
John Rutter (conductor)

CD: £14.00

Looking for downloads?

Click on a track for an audio sample:


The service of Compline has inspired many incredibly beautiful compositions and this collection gathers together 18 of the many lovely a cappella choral motets written to adorn the evening worship of the church.

Composers include Byrd, Guerrero, Rachmaninov and Sheppard, alongside such less well-known masterworks as Rheinberger’s Abendlied and the four great Marian motets of Victoria. In addition, the Office of Compline, sung in English with its traditional chants, is included in its entirety on a bonus CD.

Lighten our Darkness sees John Rutter and his Cambridge Singers return to the austere surrounds and sumptuous acoustic of the Lady Chapel at Ely Cathedral, where many of their classic recordings from the 1980s and early 1990s were recorded.

Track list

  1. In pace (Sheppard)
  2. Libera nos, salva nos (Sheppard)
  3. Justorum animae (Lassus)
  4. Pater noster (Jacob Handl)
  5. O Lord, the Maker of all thing (William Mundy)
  6. Visita, quaesumus Domine (Byrd)
  7. Abendlied (Rheinberger)
  8. O Christ who art the light and day (Byrd)
  9. O gladsome light (Louis Bourgeois)
  10. Te lucis ante terminum (Tallis)
  11. Alma Redemptoris Mater (Victoria)
  12. Ave Regina caelorum (Victoria)
  13. Regina caeli laetare (Victoria)
  14. Salve Regina (Victoria)
  15. Ave Maria (Guerrero)
  16. Bogoroditsye Dyevo (Rachmaninov)
  17. In manus tuas (Byrd)
  18. In manus tuas (Sheppard)
  19. Office of Compline (plainchant – tracks 19–30)



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Office of Compline (tracks 19-30)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Printed music featured on this disc

WordPress Image Lightbox
youjizz mobile pantyhose loving babe pampering.